WHATEVER IS LOVELY

l o v e . l i v e . t r a v e l. e a t. p r a i s e.

Labels

Labels. We place them on ourselves. We place them on other people. We let other people place them on us. We start defining ourselves by these labels and are constantly striving to live up to them. A few months ago at a youth camp I was running, I got rid of lots of labels. Through Jesus, I received freedom and peace and decided I was no longer going to live by the labels the world constantly places on me. It’s easy to say that when you’re at a camp, sheltered from reality and surrounded by friends and people who are holding you accountable. Back in the real world; at work; with your family; in relationships; at school; in absolutely every aspect of your life, those labels try and stick. Some labels I got rid of were fat; single; ugly; not good enough; annoying etc. All those kinds of labels that most people place on themselves, even when others cannot understand why they would think that of themselves. I got rid of them and for a while I felt great, not even giving those labels a thought. I was changed, I knew I was loved by the creator of the universe and that nothing else around me mattered.

But life happens and I started saying yes to the world everyday. I stared ignoring Jesus’ whispers to rest in Him, spend time with Him and let Him use His power to continuously, everyday, fight off those labels. Apart from letting those labels creep back into my life, define me and take away my happiness, I started placing my hope in the labels that I wanted to have. I wanted to have the label of author; writer; successful person; smart; rich; girlfriend; wife; mother; gorgeous; enviable; skinny. I wanted these labels because I thought if I could have these good labels, they would replace the bad labels and I would be happy.

Today I was reminded that I don’t need any of these labels. Not even the supposedly good ones. I don’t need to have the label of being someone’s wife and mother to be someone, even though that is what I want more than anything else in life. I am a daughter of the King and that’s enough. I am not lacking, rather I have more than enough. Someone has been trying to rob me of the abundant life God has planned for me and I have been letting them. But I’m not anymore. We are in a spiritual warfare in this world. We aren’t automatically going to go about life absolutely happy 24/7 and always feeling great about ourselves. But we need to stop listening to the lies we’re fed everyday that tell us we’re not good enough because we don’t have a certain label or that we’re worthless because we do have a certain label that the world has placed upon us. We need to choose to live in freedom everyday and break of the lies we’re told in Jesus’ name. When we listen to the lies and entertain those thoughts, that’s when the labels will tear us down and cause us to live our lives in chains instead of peace and freedom.

One comment on “Labels

  1. Yevgeniy Kovalenko
    October 13, 2013

    Thank you for this post! It’s awesome to know that our identity is in Jesus and not ourselves. We are defined by what Jesus did for us not by what we do or others do us! Blessings!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 13, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 685 hits
Follow on Bloglovin
Follow WHATEVER IS LOVELY on WordPress.com

Instagram

💡💙
#texas #dallas #fairylights Love this place 💙
.
#dallas #art #texas Saturday nights out in Dallas ❤️ #dallas #texas #artsdistrict Please don't make me leave here! 💙
.
.
#texas #usa #adventure How's your summer? 💙
.
.
#texas #summer #pool I want to stare at this forever! 😍🌅
.
.
#texas #summer #sunset
