WHATEVER IS LOVELY

l o v e . l i v e . t r a v e l. e a t. p r a i s e.

Cobbled Streets.

Cobbled streets are beautiful. They remind me of simpler, more peaceful times, when people wandered instead of rushed, and no one had a screen permanently attached to their hand. The way these romantic streets have such an organised chaos to their layout can only be described as fascinating, and contributes to their unique character.

Such cobbled streets wind their way around gorgeous European villages, adding to the charm and magic of such places. As I took each step in the German city of Nurembergโ€”loving the sound that echoed as my boot touched each stoneโ€”I felt like I had been transported into a fairy tale. That was until I felt a jolt. My shoulder strained and pulled me back. I couldn’t move. My suitcase wheels had wedged themselves between two polished stones, as if to say, “I refuse to go any further.” A slight jiggle of the handle and some extra pulling strength meant I was on my way once again, and back to pretending I was wandering through a village in a fairy tale. Jolt. I had barely taken any steps and it had happened again.

It seems that as beautiful as cobbled streets look, especially when lined with various buildings of the same beauty, for a wanderer from a distant land wheeling around belongings in a less-than-sturdy suitcase, they become quite frustrating. For a time I enjoyed the uniqueness of such a path, but after a while with baggage to weigh me down and constantly hinder my journey, I got tired of it and wished for a smoother way. The lesson in thisโ€”sometimes the most beautiful roads taken can be the most difficult.

Does that mean we don’t take them? No. We take these roads for a reason and sometimes it may be the only way. Does it mean we give up half way through? No, we don’t give up even when we are being hindered. We persevere and take extra care. We choose to see the beauty surrounding us before we make adjustments and continue on our way. The cobbled street won’t last forever, and chances are when it ends, we are left with a stronger memory of the beauty over anything else we experienced along the road.

“…because we know that suffering produces perseverance; 4 perseverance, character; and character, hope.” Romans 5:3-4

Beautiful cobbled streets ๐Ÿ˜ #cobbled #beautiful #germany #nuremberg #travel

A post shared by The Girl in the Dress (@the_girlinthe_dress) on

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 685 hits
Follow on Bloglovin
Follow WHATEVER IS LOVELY on WordPress.com

Instagram

๐Ÿ’ก๐Ÿ’™
#texas #dallas #fairylights Love this place ๐Ÿ’™
.
#dallas #art #texas Saturday nights out in Dallas โค๏ธ #dallas #texas #artsdistrict Please don't make me leave here! ๐Ÿ’™
.
.
#texas #usa #adventure How's your summer? ๐Ÿ’™
.
.
#texas #summer #pool I want to stare at this forever! ๐Ÿ˜๐ŸŒ…
.
.
#texas #summer #sunset
