WHATEVER IS LOVELY

l o v e . l i v e . t r a v e l. e a t. p r a i s e.

Resting by the Lake.

I had been rushing from country to country, train station to airport, tram stop to hotel. My itinerary was so jam packed that my travel agent had actually nicknamed me ‘Domino Girl’. She said that if one domino fell, the rest would rapidly follow. I knew this, but I had to make the most of my time on the other side of the world, even if it meant I only had a few hours in some places. I always travel this way, and when there aren’t delayed flights or trains strikes, it all goes pretty smoothly. However, it is tiring. I get so exhausted, but I have to keep going and pushing myself because I know that soon it will all be over and I won’t have the chance to explore such amazing places. After days of being on the go, walking from early morning until late night, trying to take in as much of my surroundings as possible, I welcomed a few days spent by Lake Neuchatel in Switzerland.

It was like time had stopped. I had a couple of days where I didn’t have to be up and on my way at some ungodly hour. I had a break from having to leave my case packed perfectly so it was all ready to be dragged to the next location.

In your travels both around the world, and in your life journey, it is important to give yourself sufficient rest. This is not something I am good at yet, but I am learning. I am learning that sometimes it is okay to stop. Sometimes it is okay to say no to something because you need a break to regain strength and energy. Sometimes it is actually okay to miss out on things that others aren’t missing out on, because you need to think about yourself occasionally and how having a break will actually be beneficial. While you think you might be missing out on things when you rest, you need to think about what you may miss out on if you never rest and get to a point where you can no longer go on.

Once I had spent a couple of days taking it easy and enjoying the tranquility, I felt much better about continuing on my journey, and actually had the energy to enjoy and make the most of my speedy visit to the next place. It made me realise that I don’t know what life is going to throw at me next, so it’s important that I am well-rested and ready to handle whatever is coming next.

I'm on a boat ✌🏼️⛵️🇨🇭 #travel #traveler #wanderlust #switzerland #europe

A post shared by The Girl in the Dress (@the_girlinthe_dress) on

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 740 hits
Follow on Bloglovin
Follow WHATEVER IS LOVELY on WordPress.com

Instagram

Always wishing I was back here...
.
.
.
#texas #USA #sunsets 😍
.
.
.
#usa #nyc #trainstation Sometimes we just have to make the best of where we are. .
.
. 
#illbehomeforchristmas #christmas #style Maybe one day I won't have to miss you! 🛬💔
.
.
.
#love #USA #sunset Can I be here pls? ❤️☕️
.
.
#coffee #newyorkcity #latte Not a bad morning at work 💁🏻😍
.
.
.
#park #australia #summer
