WHATEVER IS LOVELY

l o v e . l i v e . t r a v e l. e a t. p r a i s e.

Travel is Home.

For someone who doesn’t like change, it’s peculiar how much I love being submerged into the completely unfamiliar. I can feel more at home and part of a place I’ve never been to than in a room I’ve occupied countless times surrounded by friends and family. I don’t understand why–and maybe I never will.

Some people ask me if I ever get scared when travelling by myself, and having to navigate uncharted waters alone. The answer is no. Winding through back lanes in Bali just last week, miles away from my hotel, I did not possess one inch of fear. In fact I felt more alive and peaceful than I have in a long time. Of course I don’t deliberately put myself in dangerous situations, and I am smart about the areas I travel to at certain times, but I don’t get scared about having to be in a different place. Being somewhere new where I don’t have anyone to judge me, nor hurt me, I feel strangely confident and excited to go and explore new places, do new things and meet new people.

I wish I could hold on to this exhilarating feeling all the time. I wish more than anything that I could always be that confident and sure of myself, the way I feel when I am travelling. I don’t know why I can’t seem to bring that feeling home with me; maybe this is why I always long to be away.

One comment on “Travel is Home.

  1. Moritz
    February 5, 2016

    Lovely thoughts! As someone who is blogging himself (here’s my blog btw: http://traveluxblog.com/) this feeling sounds absolutely familiar! Feeling home while traveling is what really makes you happy 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Information

This entry was posted on February 5, 2016 by in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 1,022 hits
Follow on Bloglovin
Follow WHATEVER IS LOVELY on WordPress.com

Instagram

No Instagram images were found.