WHATEVER IS LOVELY

l o v e . l i v e . t r a v e l. e a t. p r a i s e.

Twenty-What the Flip?

This morning I started my day with coffee, prayer and friends. Although it was an early start, and I felt unbelievably tired, it didn’t matter because I couldn’t think of a better way to begin a Thursday. Add to it, the fact that it was the first day of spring, I had a lunch date with a friend, and an exciting night out after work, I was in a great mood. This morning  when  I realised that August had ended already and it was suddenly the beginning of September, I was disgusted to hear myself utter the cliche, “Where has this year gone?” Of course everyone else agreed, which led to a discussion of time and how it seems to go faster and faster, the older you get. We realised that when you are working full time and trying to balance everything and everyone else in your life, you feel like you barely get anything done before the weekend whizzes by and the new week has arrived, thus ensuring the vicious cycle of life continues.

We agreed that when we were younger and looking forward to something, time seemed to stand still. If you had a favourite night of the week because you knew you got take away for dinner, or your favourite TV show would be on, it would feel like that night was never coming round again. The same applied to waiting for Christmas, or your birthday. As a kid when you were anticipating all of these exciting life events, time would drag on and on. Until one day you suddenly find yourself in your mid to late twenties, and are so busy and tired, rushing from here to there, almost waiting for life to start without realising that it is actually passing by in a blur.

By the time I got to work, I wasn’t in such a good mood anymore. I felt old. I felt worn out. I felt like I had nothing going for me. I was then of course reminded on social media that by not having a baby, getting married or buying a house, I, as a twenty something, was getting further and further behind in this game of life. In the next few blog posts I am going to look at why being in your mid to late twenties can sometimes just downright suck. I haven’t come up with a solution to these issues at all. In fact, there isn’t a whole lot we can do but try our best and muddle our way through it until we are older and wiser and have more mistakes to learn from. But maybe just by feeling like all the twenty-somethings are in this life transition together, the burden will feel lighter.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 1, 2016 by in life, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 684 hits
Follow on Bloglovin
Follow WHATEVER IS LOVELY on WordPress.com

Instagram

Nights off in Texas ❤️ .
.
#Texas #summer #USA Pretty views and s'mores making on a Texas Summer evening. 💙🍫
.
.
#sunset #Texas #silhouette Summer!🌲🌿
.
.
#Texas #USA #summer 😍☁️
.
.
#Texas #reflection #USA I think I'm gonna like it here...
.
.
#Texas #summercamp #USA Take me out to the ball game ⚾🇺🇸❤️
.
.
#Texas #rangers #baseball
